Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Verissimus : the Stoic philosophy of Marcus Aurelius  Cover Image Book Book

Verissimus : the Stoic philosophy of Marcus Aurelius / Donald J. Robertson ; illustrated by Zé Nuno Fraga.

Robertson, Donald, 1972- (author.). Fraga, Zé Nuno, (illustrator.).

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250270955
  • ISBN: 1250270952
  • Physical Description: 1 volume (unpaged) : chiefly color illustrations, color map ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Press, 2022.

Content descriptions

Formatted Contents Note:
The dead emperor -- The most truthful child -- The Stoic master -- The Empress Faustina -- The legionary legate -- The Parthian War -- The Temple of Apollo -- The Antonine plague -- The Marcomannic invasion -- The war of many nations -- The Egyptian uprising -- The Sarmatian war -- The civil war -- The view from above.
Summary, etc.:
"In the tradition of Logicomix, Donald J. Robertson's Verissimus is a riveting graphic novel on the life and stoic philosophy of Marcus Aurelius. Marcus Aurelius was the last famous Stoic of antiquity but he was also to become the most powerful man in the known world - the Roman emperor. After losing his father at an early age, he threw himself into the study of philosophy. The closest thing history knew to a philosopher-king, yet constant warfare and an accursed plague almost brought his empire to its knees. "Life is warfare", he wrote, "and a sojourn in foreign land!" One thing alone could save him: philosophy, the love of wisdom! The remarkable story of Marcus Aurelius' life and philosophical journey is brought to life by philosopher and psychotherapist Donald J. Robertson, in a sweeping historical epic of a graphic novel, based on a close study of the historical evidence, with the stunning full-color artwork of award-winning illustrator Zé Nuno Fraga"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Marcus Aurelius, Emperor of Rome, 121-180. Meditations > Comic books, strips, etc.
Marcus Aurelius, Emperor of Rome, 121-180 > Comic books, strips, etc.
Philosophers > Rome > Biography > Comic books, strips, etc.
Emperors > Rome > Biography > Comic books, strips, etc.
Stoics > Comic books, strips, etc.
Marcus Aurelius, Emperor of Rome, 121-180.
Meditations (Marcus Aurelius, Emperor of Rome)
Emperors.
Philosophers.
Stoics.
Rome (Empire)
Genre: Graphic novels.
Comics (Graphic works)
Biographical comics.
Biographies.
Nonfiction comics.
History.

Available copies

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 1 total copy.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
East Grand Forks Campbell Library 188.0207 AURELIUS Graphic Novel 2022 (Text) 523227 Non-Fiction Available -


Additional Resources